Manchester United are set to be without five key players for tomorrow’s Europa League group stage encounter against Sheriff Tiraspol in Moldova. The Red Devils started their European campaign on a disappointing note with a 1-0 loss to Real Sociedad at home. The La Liga outfit won with a controversial penalty. Manager Erik ten Hag will want a strong response against Sheriff on Thursday, and ahead of the game, United have confirmed their travelling squad of 22 players.

Among them, Marcus Rashford, Aaron Wan-Bissaka, Donny van de Beek and Anthony Martial are notable absentees alongside new summer signing Martin Dubravka. Martial has been sidelined since picking up an Achilles injury against Liverpool last month, and it is quite clear that the Frenchman has yet to return to training. It appears Rashford, Van de Beek and Wan-Bissaka are also carrying minor injuries, having been absent for Wednesday’s early training session in Carrington.

No update has been provided on Dubravka yet, but it is unlikely that Ten Hag would leave out his back-up goalkeeper if he was 100 per cent fit for the game. Aside from the main quintet, Phil Jones and Brandon Williams are long-term absentees for United, and they have not been included in the Europa League squad. Axel Tuanzebe and Facundo Pellistri have been named in the 25-man squad, but they are only due to return from respective injuries after the international break.

Ten Hag is bound to name a strong line-up against Sheriff, having rested a number of regular starters in the group stage opener versus Sociedad at Old Trafford. The likes of Raphael Varane, Lisandro Martinez, Scott McTominay, Bruno Fernandes and Jadon Sancho could all make the starting XI. David de Gea looks set to continue in goal.



Leave a Reply